Archive: «Meet Tschaikowski»

Grafenegg Wolkenturm


  • European Union Youth Orchestra
  • Alisa Weilerstein, cello
  • Xian Zhang, conductor


Pjotr Iljitsch Tchaikovsky
Fantasy overture from «Hamlet» op. 67
Variations on a Rococo theme for Cello and Orchestra op. 33

- Interval-

Pjotr Iljitsch Tchaikovsky
«Francesca da Rimini» Fantasy op. 32
Suite from the ballet «Sleeping Beauty» op. 66a


European Union Youth Orchestra • Alisa Weilerstein • Xian Zhang


As the EU’s musical ambassador, the European Union Youth Orchestra (EUYO) represents the grand vision of a shared voice for our continent. The young musicians from the 28 member states are put through a tough audition process, meaning that the EUYO is among the elite of the world’s youth orchestras.

At home and well-loved in Grafenegg for several years now, the orchestra brings an all-Tchaikovsky programme to the Wolkenturm under the baton of the Chinese-American conductor Xian Zhang, Music Director of the Orchestra Sinfonica di Milano Giuseppe Verdi. Soloist for the Rococo Variations is the American cellist Alisa Weilerstein, who gave her Carnegie Hall debut in New York aged just 15.


My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List