Archive: Tchaikowski, Rachmaninow • Son, Kitajenko

Grafenegg Auditorium


  • Tonkünstler Orchestra
  • Yeol Eum Son, piano
  • Dmitrij Kitajenko, conductor


Pjotr Iljitsch Tchaikowski
Two movements from the Ballet «Sleeping Beauty» op. 66 (Arr.: Igor Strawinski)

Sergej Rachmaninov
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 2 in c minor op. 18

- Interval -

Pjotr Iljitsch Tchaikowski
Symphony No. 4 in f minor op. 36


Tonkünstler Orchestra • Yeol Eum Son • Dmitrij Kitajenko

Tchaikowski • Rachmaninow

The Russian conductor Dmitri Kitayenko is among the most important interpreters of music of his home country worldwide. His complete recordings of several Russian composers have frequently been declared reference recordings by the press. Together with the Tonkünstler and the celebrated South Korean piano virtuoso Yeol Eum Son, Dmitri Kitayenko presents a Russian programme with select works by Tchaikovsky and Rachmaninov that have long since been considered highlights of the repertoire. Extracts from «Swan Lake» and Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony are featured, as is Rachmaninov’s Second Piano Concerto, with which the composer won back the hearts of the audience, having overcome a serious crisis.


My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List