Archive: Christmas Concert

Grafenegg Auditorium


  • Tonkünstler Orchestra Niederösterreich
  • Carolyn Sampson, Soprano
  • Masaaki Suzuki, Conductor


Igor Stravinsky
Suite from the ballet «Pulcinella»

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
«Exsultate, jubilate» Motet for Soprano and Orchestra F major KV 165

- Interval -

Joseph Haydn
«Ein' Magd, ein' Dienerin. Cantilena pro Adventu» Aria Hob XXIIId:1

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
«The Nutcracker» Ballet suite op. 71a


Your concert includes the complimentary entrance to the Grafenegg Advent market on the 5 December 2015.


Tonkünstler Orchestra Niederösterreich • Carolyn Sampson • Masaaki Suzuki

Stravinsky • Mozart • Haydn • Tchaikovsky

How brightly the park at Grafenegg will shine once again this year in the splendour of the approaching festive season! And yet one star will be particularly bright on two evenings in December: Carolyn Sampson, the English soprano with timbre as clear as a bell. Mozart’s festal «Exsultate, jubilate» and Haydn’s aria «Ein’ Magd, ein’ Dienerin» are at the heart of this Christmas programme, framed by ballet music from two very different composers. Stravinsky described his «Pulcinella» Suite as a «look in the mirror» – a colourful one at that, for the ballet is pervaded by the spirit of the Commedia dell’arte. Tchaikovsky’s «Nutcracker» radiates the joyful mood of the Advent season and if you too fancy something sweet after the Dance of the Sugar-Plum Fairy, just use your concert ticket to visit the «Grafenegger Advent» Christmas fair!

Supporting programme

Concert series


My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List