Archive: Symphonie classique

Grafenegg Auditorium


  • Tonkunstler Orchestra of Lower Austria
  • François Leleux, conductor, oboist


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Symphony in g minor KV 183

Sergei Prokofiev
Symphony No. 1 in D major op. 25 «Symphonie classique»

- Interval -

Joseph Haydn
Concerto for Oboe and Orchestra in C major Hob. VIIg:C1

Georges Bizet
Symphony No. 1 in C major


Tonkunstler Orchestra • François Leleux

Mozart, Prokofjew, Haydn, Bizet

After Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto in the opening concert, the Tonkunstler now present one of the Russian composer’s best loved works – his «Classical Symphony». Exuberance and wit, irony and clarity, a carefree spirit combined with rebellion against the petit-bourgeoisie: Sergey Prokofiev shows great imagination in combining all these qualities in his truly classic First Symphony. Another first is the French virtuoso François Leleux, new to the Tonkunstler rostrum and one of the most-sought-after oboists worldwide. The Oboe Concerto by Joseph Haydn promises spirited entertainment and from the soloist, dazzling brilliance. The magic of the Viennese Classical era will be conjured up, too, as the Tonkunstler perform Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s «Little» G minor Symphony. Parisian charm, daintily prepared in Georges Bizet’s First Symphony, concludes the programme.

Supporting programme


My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List