• Tonkunstler Orchestra of Lower Austria
  • Ray Chen, violin
  • Yutaka Sado, conductor


Thomas Larcher
«Red and Green» for Orchestra (Austrian premiere)

Sergey Prokofiev
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 2 in G minor op. 63

Robert Schumann
Symphony No. 2 in C major op. 61


Tonkunstler Orchestra • Ray Chen • Yutaka Sado

Larcher • Prokofiev • Schumann

The Tonkunstler Orchestra and their Principal Conductor Yutaka Sado offer a first-class programme to launch the new season of «Schlossklänge». The soloist in Sergey Prokofiev’s virtuosic Second Violin Concerto is the Australian-Taiwanese violinist Ray Chen. Written by Prokofiev in the style of the «new simplicity», the concerto was a great success at its premiere and is now considered one of the most important violin concertos in the repertory. Robert Schumann wrote his Second Symphony at what was a «dark time» for him. Schumann’s mental and physical health improved while he was writing the symphony and the violin concerto too ends with a reassuring, deeply life-affirming finale. Premiered in 2011, Thomas Larcher’s orchestral piece «Red and Green» will be receiving its first performance in Austria. Larcher, one of the most highly regarded and most played Austrian composers, wrote this work for orchestra and an optically impressive battery of percussion instruments.

Supporting programme

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List