Archive: Christmas Concert

Grafenegg Auditorium


  • Tonkünstler-Orchestra Niederösterreich
  • Carolyn Sampson, soprano
  • Marianne Beate Kielland, mezzosoprano
  • Thomas Hobbs, tenor
  • Roderick Williams, baritone
  • Daniel Reuss, conductor


Johann Sebastian Bach
Christmas Oratorio BWV 248, Cantata No. 1 («For the first day of Christmas»)
Christmas Oratorio BWV 248, Cantata No. 2 («For the second day of Christmas»)

- Interval -

Christmas Oratorio BWV 248, Cantata No. 4 («For new year's day»)
Christmas Oratorio BWV 248, Cantata No. 6 («For the feast of Epiphany»)


Tonkünstler-Orchester Niederösterreich • Cappella Amsterdam • Carolyn Sampson • Marianne Beate Kielland • Thomas Hobbs • Roderick Williams • Daniel Reuss


Johann Sebastian Bach’s Weihnachtsoratorium is a particularly wonderful way to set the mood for the upcoming celebration of the birth of Christ. Festive kettledrum strokes and the famous opening line of the chorus «Jauchzet, frohlocket» start off the baroque musical celebration that takes us through the Christmas holidays.

Bach’s magnificent work has been immensely popular for over 250 years – both with the audience and with the performing artists. The Cappella Amsterdam, which recently won the Edison Classical Award, a number of outstanding vocal soloists and the Tonkünstler under Daniel Reuss come together in music to celebrate the joyful occasion.


My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List